2020 Club AGM announced

January 28th, 2020

The East Kilbride Pirates American Football Club Annual General Meeting will take place on Sunday 23 February, from 12pm – 12.55pm in the Bowls Pavilion, Hamilton Palace Sports Ground, Mote Hill, Hamilton, ML3 6BY.

Who can attend?
All Pirates club members, coaches, committee, friends, family and supporters are welcome to attend the AGM. This includes our Youth and Junior teams and their parents.

Based on feedback from previous AGMs, we’ll be keeping things brief and to the point. The focus will be on giving you a chance to ask questions rather than listen to us talking. We’ll post up copies of our team accounts in our team groups ahead of the meeting so you can review them before attending.

1. Any apologies (5 mins)
2. Short committee and financial report (10 mins)
3. Opportunity to ask questions (10 mins)
4. Any other business (10 mins)
5. Voting to elect committee members for the year ahead (10 mins)

If you would like to raise an item for discussion as part of any other business, or are unable to attend but would like to ask a question, these must be submitted in advance to info@piratesfootball.co.uk no later than Sunday 16 February.

All players, coaches, committee members and staff currently over the age of 18 and who are registered with any team within the club on the BAFA membership portal are eligible to vote. All 2019 season ticket holders are also eligible on production of their season ticket. (Please bring this with you to the AGM if you intend to vote)

What if I can’t go – can I still vote?
If you can’t make the meeting, you can ask someone to be your proxy. This means that can ask someone to vote on your behalf, but you have to let us know in advance. You can ask a fellow player to hold your proxy vote, or submit it in advance of the meeting to info@piratesfootball.co.uk

Positions up for election
All committee positions are up for election at the meeting, except for the roles of vice-chair held by Gordon Wallace and treasurer, now held by Iain McFarlane, which are two-year terms and were voted in last year.  Iain McFarlane automatically takes over the remaining year left of the two-year treasurer term left by the resignation of outgoing treasurer Matthew Davies.

The positions up for election in 2020 are:
Ordinary Members

The following committee members currently holding positions are standing for re-election:

Amanda McDonald – Chair
Stuart Gilmour – for Ordinary member
Claire Cochrane – for Ordinary member
Jamie McLaughlin – for Ordinary member
Dougie Meechan – for Ordinary member

The following people are also standing for roles:

Cara Wilson – ordinary member
Kerr Givan – ordinary member
Bill Campbell – ordinary member

All roles are open for contest. A further two ordinary member roles are currently vacant, and open to expressions of interest. By the terms of our constitution, all persons intending to stand for a vacant role or contest a role must give notification of their intent to stand prior to the AGM. If you would like to stand for a vacant role or against an existing nominee please contact Club Chair Amanda McDonald directly or email info@piratesfootball.co.uk no later than Sunday 16 February.

All nominations must be proposed by two club members – one of whom must be a committee member.

All roles involve commitment. Prospective committee members will need to be prepared to attend meetings and help at team events across all levels of the club, own the delivery of specific pieces of work and have the time to actually carry out any tasks required. There are lots of other ways to help out the club that don’t involve being on the committee, so if you’d like to get involved, please get in touch via info@piratesfootball.co.uk


Share this article