Hall Of Fame

Hall of Fame inductees Jim Dorman, Ian Smith, Derek Ross and Bill Campbell

The inaugural Hall of Fame inductees (L-R) Jim Dorman, Ian Smith, Derek Ross and Bill Campbell

The Club launched the Hall of Fame in 2015 as a culmination of a year of 30th anniversary celebrations. It’s designed to recognise the hard work and achievements of people from throughout the Pirates past who helped make the club what it is today. Since then eight people who’ve significantly contributed to the club, both on and off the field have been inducted. New inductees are voted on by the current Hall of Fame membership.

Hall of fame inductees

2015 inductees
Derek Ross – a key figure in the formation and development of the club and former club chairman.
Bill Campbell – former club secretary and general manager, Bill is still a mainstay of the club as statistician and club historian.
Ian Smith – involved with the club for nearly 25 years as player, chairman and latterly a youth coach. Ian was also the club’s longest running chairman to date.
Jim Dorman – a veteran defensive lineman, and youth head coach, Jimmy D is the most decorated player in Pirates history – holding eight awards.

2016 inductees
Willie Brown – a vetern running back and for a long time the club’s leading rusher, with career stats of 812 carries for 5878 yards and 59 touchdowns. Player of the Year in 2000 and 2002.
Alastair MacDougall – linebacker turned running back, he achieved the Club’s first 1000-yard Season in 1992, winning Player of the Year. He’s the only person to date to have won both defensive and offensive MVPs.

2017 inductees
Ryan Hunter – a safety turned quarterback with unrivalled stats who led the Pirates to the British Division One Championship title in 2011. Player of the year 2011 and 2013, and Players’ Player of the year in 2006, 2009 and 2013.
Gavin Reid – a strong safety and ferocious hitter, he was a team captain and former club chairman and was player of the year in 1993 and 1994, as well as defensive MVP in 1991, 1992 and 1995.

2018 inductees
Steven Branscombe – A wide-receiver whose career saw a total of 114 catches for 1639 yards and 28 TDs. This made him Pirates all-time leading receiver, a title he held for over 15 years before being surpassed recently. He was EKP Offensive MVP three years in a row, in 1998, 1999 & 2000.
James Dougall – A linedbacker turned center, he quickly became the figurehead of a dominant defense. With the Head Coach position vacant, he stepped into that role as well, leading the club to Britbowl at Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield in 2001.



Share this page