New club committee elected for 2020

February 29th, 2020

The East Kilbride Pirates American Football Club held their Annual General Meeting on Sunday 23 February, electing the committee who will lead them for the year ahead. The event at Hamilton Palace Sports Ground was attended by players, coaches and staff from across the Club.

Club Chair Amanda McDonald was reelected for another two year term – and now enters her tenth year of leading the club. Jamie McLaughlin, Claire Cochrane, Stuart Gilmour and Dougie Meechan all stood again as ordinary members, and were reelected. Iain MacFarlane steps up as Club Treasurer, automatically taking over the remaining year of the two-year term of outgoing Treasurer Matthew Davies. While club Vice-Chair Gordon Wallace still has a year remaining of his existing two year term.

Joining the committee for the first time are Cara Wilson, who is also team manager of the Hamilton Buccaneers youth contact and cadet flag teams, and has been leading on sponsorship for the club, and Kerr Girvan, who has been assisting on stats and game reports across the club. Returning to the committee after over a decade is former club general manager Bill Campbell.

“I’m delighted to have this year’s club committee in place and have the continued support of our re-elected committee members, those returning and those joining the committee for the first time.” said club chair Amanda. “We’re now gearing up for the start of the season for our cadet, youth, junior and senior teams. With eight teams now in the club and over 250 members, a busy time is ahead!”

The new club committee in full is as follows:

Chair – Amanda McDonald
Vice-Chair – Gordon Wallace
Treasurer – Iain McFarlane
Ordinary members – Jamie McLaughlin, Claire Cochrane, Stuart Gilmour, Dougie Meechan, Bill Campbell, Cara Wilson and Kerr Girvan.


Share this article